Woodford Shale

Hi all! This is my first post. I have a small (20acre) pecan farm in Johnston County (Ravia) in Oklahoma. My neighbor owns 10 acres on my North side and she was recently offered $500/acre lease for minerals followed by an offer by a venture group for $2500/acre to buy mineral rights. I was offered the same $500/acre from the same landman from Edmond, OK though I don’t know what the specifics of the lease offer is yet. Last year a company (don’t know which) performed massive 3D seismic testing of the area but I didn’t pay much attention at the time. It seems to me that somebody knows something about my area and intentions. I’m new at this so any guidance would be extremely helpful.

Billy:

First, if you are ever contacted in regards to selling your minerals, you need to refuse as this small amount of acreage could mean thousands of dollars in the future if a well or wells are drilled. Second, it is not uncommon for 3D seismic tests to be conducted as usually oil companies utilize this data to determine the boundaries of a shale play or a determining factor on where future wells will be drilled. I'm not familiar with this area in Oklahoma, so I can't say if the $500/acre is fair. I can tell you that when negotiating a lease, shop around and do your homework to get the best % royalty and the shortest term (preferably not more than 3 years). Also, you may want to address surface damages in a document in the event damage occurs to your pecan orchard as a result of drilling operations. You can find other posts on this forum that addresses contents of leases such as Pugh Clauses, etc. Just do your homework and know what you are signing when the lease is being finalized.