West Virginia Mineral Rights Group archives

Oil & gas discussion group for land and mineral rights in West Virginia. Ask questions or share your experiences related to mineral and land rights in West Virginia including law and legal questions, accounting and taxes, regulations, surface use issues, easements, and anything else affecting land and mineral rights in West Virginia.

Hmmm. too quiet in here. What's going on with Marcellus production in areas of the state that already have high volumes of existing shallow wells? I have a property leased right now that is in decline after several years of production. How do I go about spurring interest in deep well exploration in my aera?

What county? I understand that the companies are mainly interested in wet gas.

We own some land from a lease we inherited back in 1986, now antero resources is contacting us about a pooling clause, what should we do.

Doesn't seem to be much going on here?

I'm an attorney and negotiate quite a few leases. I figured I'd update people as to some of the numbers I've seen recently on signed leases. Doddridge and Harrison County leases should get up to $2,500/acre and 18% net, 15% gross if you're able to negotiate gross. Tyler County bonuses are fluctuating a lot; one guy I talked to said he got Antero and JayBee into a bidding war recently and got them up to $4,500/acre (I have no way of verifying that, of course), I've seen offers of $1,500 and leases of $3,000/acre, and have negotiated up to 18% net. In Tyler, Wetzel, and Marshall counties the judge is forcing the companies to pay $4,000/acre for the interests they acquire in partition suits. Barbour County is getting $1,000/ac, and more if you negotiate hard, but 15% is the highest they'll go on royalty. That's because Consol/CNX is the only game in town. They will give you gross, though. Ritchie County is fluctuating, too, though I've heard that $2,500/acre is pretty common, and I know that at least one person on this forum is pushing