Understanding Spudding of New Wells

Last month Camino spudded three new Great Plains, Sec04-Twp05-Rge05. The wells are in adjoining locations. I’m a rookie and am trying to follow what’s going on. Forms1001A indicate they were spudded and casing cemented on consecutive days 12/15 to 12/17. Would this indicate that a “Spuddding Rig”, or a “Drilling Rig” was utilized. Or does it indicate nothing and I should wait patiently for Camino’s next filing. Patience has never been one of my strong points! Thank you for your time and consideration.

As of Jan 5, Cactus 168 rig is onsite. It is a big “walking” rig. 1800 HP

(Cactus 160 walking rig is in section 10 working on the Black Mesa wells.)

Put on your patience hat and wait for about five or six months until you get your Division Order. The completion posting on the OCC is usually about three to four months after the completion is finished, so about a year from spud since they are drilling three wells back to back.

You can keep an eye on the OTC which will post the “active date”, also somewhat delayed from the final completion but usually before the OCC posts. https://oktap.tax.ok.gov/oktap/web/_/

Use the Public PUN search and type in Great Plains. Only the first one shows up right now. Great Plains 0505

1 Like

Thank you Martha and Happy New Year!

1 Like

Happy New Year! Looks like next new year will have some nice revenue.

1 Like

Yes, Happy New Year Martha! I see in your response above that Cactus 160 is working in Section 10 on the Black Mesa wells. What does that mean (walking rig)? Are these the new wells and have they actually spud them? My section is 10-5N-5W Grady County. I don’t have any PUN numbers yet to keep track of the process. Thank you.

Black Mesa 0505 #3-10-4MXH spud 1/4/24. This is one of the new wells. You will not see a PUN number until the well is completed.