Total newbie questions about section 3-6N-6W

Would really appreciate some advice here, I'm a total novice at this. Please forgive me if I get some of the terminology wrong.

A week ago I got a telephone call from someone asking if I was related to a person who was, in fact, my great grandmother. She apparently had some mineral rights to 20 acres in Grady County (3-6N-6W), and he was offering us a lease agreement for 3/16ths royalty -- no bonus was mentioned and we wouldn't have known there was such a thing had we not found this web site.

He said it was important that we respond by April 9th, or we would be force-pooled and receive 12% royalty. A week ago I knew nothing about the existence of these rights, so we're indebted to him for that. At the same time I assume he isn't just doing this out of pure kindness and generosity, and that this probably isn't a great offer.

Can anyone shed any light for me here? Should we be concerned about the April 9th date. If we don't accept his offer, how do we go about claiming whatever there is to be claimed?

Thanks!

Andy

Hello Andy,

I'm not to far ahead of you in experience but have found that you don't want to fall for that offer. First I found out that force pooling is not a bad thing and in most cases, if you do nothing at all, you are protected by the Okla Corporation Commission as the pooling has to come before that Commission anyway.

Most common in royalties are bonus money and 1/8, bonus money and 3/16th and no bonus money and 1/4 royalty.

He's trying to scare you into thinking you'll miss out on something if you don't act fast. Just think, if you have to do something in a hurry so someone says, it's usually not good for you.

I just completed a lease and I chose no bonus and 1/4 royalty.

I could of had $1200 for 1/8, $1100 for 3/16 and no bonus for 1/4.

That money mentioned is for per acre or acres, and per year for usually a 3 year lease.

Just relax some, you are protected anyway.