New owner to mineral rights

Hello Everyone, I am very new to managing my mineral rights and leases. I am trying to identify via my deed information, which properties are leased and to which operator. It is hard for me, a person who has never dealt with these types of documents, I have joined your forum to seek help in attempting to audit some of the properties that I own. Understanding the legalese on the mineral deed seems overwhelming. Are there any resources available that can point me in the right direction to begin my audit project? Thank you all in advance. I hope to have stories to share as I learn the forum. :grinning:

First of all, welcome!

Sort your deeds and properties into states and then by counties.
If you are in states like Texas, they will have abstract numbers.
If you are in states like OK or ND or others, they will have section, township and ranges which are fairly easy to place once you know to read the legal locations from right to left. There are experts on the forum in most of the states, so it is useful to ask questions within the state and county for those particular minerals. There are various free websites for each state where you can look up your minerals. But you would have to figure that out first before we can help you.

Thank You M Barnes! I am trying this with baby steps, I am starting with Texas, and Glasscock County. I have used GlasscockCAD to search for properties in my owners name. (Those free websites do help a bit, that’s how I found your group) I have division orders from my operators. I wanted to use my sheets (from CAD webpage) to match to my Division orders, but the infomation I read on my deeds (property names and description) vary from the division orders.