My 48 acres of mineral rights I inherited

My grandmother passed away in August 2023 and I am her sole beneficiary in the her will, I went through wetzel county ancillary probate and it closed January 16th making me the owner of 48.5 acres of mineral rights, almost 9 acres in wetzel county and 39.5 acres in Tyler county. I didn’t hire the probate attorney but he valued it at $132,732 which I’m not sure is accurate! I’m new to this and I don’t want to scammed out of my inheritance! I have no children, no family, it’s just me and I want to sell the mineral rights and do something nice with the money! I don’t know how much it’s actually worth or where to sell it! Any help would be so appreciated!

You need a broker to sell your mineral rights at a good price, an accountant to help you for any tax-related considerations, and an engineer to conduct a retrospective appraisal on your mineral rights. This appraisal can assist in reducing your capital gains tax liability when you sell your mineral rights.

Disclaimer: I’m an engineer, not a lawyer or landman or accountant. Please take a grain of salt on my comments.

Ok Thank you so much My_PE

Hi,

The probate lawyer’s valuation is probably a much lower number than an actual appraisal with the intention to sell. (I also inherited, but am not selling). Definitely listen to the engineer in the previous comment (My_PE). Get an appraisal. Good luck!

Tyler and Wetzel are very active and full of Wet Gas, I would suggest not selling. My family used Miller Law Offices and MAA or AMCO. Local to West Virginia they have a lot of professional oil and gas Petroleum Landman, Geologist, and Attorneys along with Mineral Advisors and Aprassiers. All of them are highly recommended.

There are a multitude of factors that figure into such a decision, but expediency should not be one of them.

These mineral rights could very well be quite valuable. Indeed you have much to learn and it would be most advisable to do so before soliciting to sell.