Lease Offers in Hockley County, Tx

It’s clear that all the new shale leasing activity that has been sweeping through Terry County (and other surrounding counties) has hit southern Hockley County. I’m aware of leasing activity in the Arnett area along highway 1585. Initial offers on lease terms that I have seen are 1/5 royalty, $300/acre for 3 year term, $200/acre for 2 year extension. One of the companies involved is Plantation Operating, LLC, out of Houston. An addendum to the lease protecting the drip irrigation systems and pivot irrigation systems is being offered. Please share your experiences in Hockley County.

I was offered a bit less in the first contact made by a company called Matador Land Services - there’s next to nothing about this company anywhere, so I’m skeptical about working with them. I have NO experience with this and am trying to research as much as possible by joining this forum. Thanks for any insights you might have - my property is on the Lubbock/Hockley line.

Matador is out of Midland, but I don't know anything in particular. However, the thing to remember is that it is very common for the larger companies to utilize various land services like this; they are basically contracting a group of landmen to buy up leases. Then, at some later point, the leases will be assigned back to the larger company. Matador most certainly will not be drilling any wells, and there is no way they will tell you who they are working for. And in the end, you can never be sure who will end up with a lease, as leases can be traded, assigned, and sold.