How To Market New Oil & Gas Leases and Mineral Rights With No Production History

I am new to the business and would like some advice on how to market newly released state oil & gas leases. I own the leases to 8 - 40 acre sections in SE Wyoming in two counties. The setup is 4 sets of 2 side by side 40 acre leases in different locations They are on the outskirts of two large oil & gas producing areas and could be ripe for exploration. The leases have no oil & gas history. I believe my selling point is location.

My question is how and where do I market these and perhaps most importantly what would be the going price on leases such as mine? Being new and an investor, not a developer, would flipping these be a better option to raise working capital to purchase better located leases. I understand that if I flip them I need to sell them below market. Question is...what is market?

Another option I have considered is to trade these for mineral rights claims outside of oil & gas.

Thanks

George:

If I was in your situation, I would first do some serious homework and learn what companies are drilling near your area, then contact thier land departments to learn if the company is considering additonal leasing in your area. In regards to the going bonus rates, I would contact others who have leased minerals in your area in order to get an idea of the going rates. On the topic of trading or selling these minerals, I would not even consider these as alternatives since you will most likely end up on the short end of the deal. Your best option is to keep what you've got and try to get a good lease on your minerals. Good luck.

Thank you very much for this information. How would I end up on the bad end of a deal if I sold or traded the rights? This would be good to know as I move forward.

George: