How to get OCC Case Processing Web Application to run on Windows 8.1

I’m not sure it is possible to make the OCC Case Processing Web Application run natively in Windows 8. I’ve had some experience with Oracle’s jintiator in an application I used to manage several years ago. Oracle stopped supporting jinitiator several years ago and the version that is used on the OCC database is a decade old. I played with the settings a bit before going another route.

I created a virtual machine to run it in. A virtual machine is a emulation of a computer within a computer. So it is like having a second computer dedicated to a task but it resides within the same box.

The software I used to create the virtual machine is called “VMware Player”. It is similar to the more robust “VMware workstation” that has been around for many years. “Player” has all of the tools needed to pull off this task and it is free for downloading for non-commercial use. If a person needs to use it for commercial use, “Player Plus” is available for $99 directly from VMware.

The free download is here VMware Player

You will also need a licensed copy of Windows XP. I had bought a few copies a few years ago that I had not used so I was ready to go.

I’m not going to go into all of the installation details as it is a pretty simple install. It is rather blunt but; If you do not understand the terms I’m using and are not comfortable with making changes like this without step-by-step instructions, then this is not for you.

What I did was:

1) Created an ISO image of the installation disk and installed on removable media
2) Load VMware Player. Launch
3) Create a new Virtual machine. I used a 20gig space and then took the defaults
4) Point it to your ISO image and let it install.
5) Once loaded, download and install Service Pack 3 and the update. There were between 140 and 150 updates.
6) Then Follow OCC’s instructions. http://www.occeweb.com/Orawebapps/OCCOraWebAppsfixxpp.html