Antero Tyler Co. WV

Hi, I’m new here and very confused. Had a gentleman come to my house with a lease offer from Antero for someone mineral rights that I supposedly own that I never knew about. My portion is a very small amount (0.68750 acre). There is a signing bonus involved and it’s a 5 year lease. My husband is concerned about giving my SS# and also if we’ll have to pay taxes, either on the royalties or on the property. We really can’t afford to consult an attorney right now, but the signing bonus would be helpful to us right now. He left the paperwork and told me to contact the man listed on paperwork on Monday if I have more questions, but I’m not even sure what my questions should be. Any advice? Thanks in advance. Lisa

Lisa, I am not a professional just a lease holder in Marshall Co. Our property taxes on 34 net mineral acres just now drilled but not producing are $21 annually. I would suspect your’s would be less since it is smaller acreage. You will owe Fed and WV tax on the bonus payment and any eventual royalties. You should certainly still come out ahead. As to the lease you received, know that the minimum royalty in WV is 12.5 %. I would ask for 15% or 16% at least as a counter. Also strike out any reference to post production expenses and don’t agree to an automatic lease extension just the original 5 years. If they don’t drill in the original 5 year term they have to renegotiate a new lease. That is what happened to us in Marshall Co. Antero is very active in Tyler Co. You can check the dep.wv.gov website and click on the Database and Map Information button and then select the Oil and Gas Map Search button. On the map which is very sensitive try to find the area in Tyler Co where your property is located and see if there are proposed or existing wells in the area. If you click on each wellsite the specific info for that well appears. After you use the site bit it becomes easier to find what you’re looking for. I hope that helps. An attorney is alwa