With low o/g market, value of net mineral acres and hold? or sell?

Hi All, Need to evaluate 350+net mineral acres divided into 8 tracts. Located in Marion Co., Illinois near (DAPL) Dakota Access Pipeline terminating between Pakota and Vernon at the pipeline hub where crude oil is transported to refineries. Last well produced 2009. Would sell total amount or tracts. Please share your thoughts on 1. value or range of values per net mineral acres (nma) and 2. sell or keep property while market is so low. Senior Citizen. No living family. Not in need of income for a few years. Thanks barrels for your input. L.Hays

Although I am familiar with the overall geology of the Illinois Basin (as a geologist with 40 years of experience in US O&G basins), I am far from an expert on industry activity and present trends in that area. I do however know that this area is not being pursued by the major oil companies since it does not have the upside reserves and unconventional potential of areas like the Permian Basin, Bakken Shale and other similar play areas.

Active operators in your area tend to be smaller players who are chasing conventional targets - normally one to two well features - instead of widespread "blanket" plays.

Groups that purchase mineral interests are looking at the long term payout and return on investment. They also are focusing on areas that have what they perceive to be some reasonable O&G potential that is tied to possible future drilling.

These groups have access to data bases and technical support (engineers and geologists) who have evaluated the potential of various areas and subsequently put a "market value" on certain areas based on the results of this analysis.