What is the play?

Hey, Guys -

I am a Certified Professional Landman in Fort Worth, Texas. I have joined your Fresno County, CA Group in an effort to try and discover (for one of your neighbors and fellow mineral rights owner), what is going on there.

I've done a little research and over just the past few years, various companies have filed over 4,200 new Oil and Gas Leases in Fresno County - effecting lands almost exclusively in the Southwestern part of the County.

But I have not yet been able to find any wells being permitted to anything I would describe as an exciting formation. Only to fairly ordinary, relatively shallow, relatively low producing formations.

Can anybody tell me what the "Play" is? What formation the companies are so excited about?

Charles

Charles Emery Tooke III

Certified Professional Landman

Fort Worth, Texas

Hi Charles,

It is the Monterey Shale play. In California the Department of Oil, Gas and Geothermal Resources ("DOGGR") is the governmental entity that regulates oil and gas production (similar to your Railroad Commission as I understand it). DOGGR allows new wells to be placed on a "confidential" status for up to two years. Therefore, it is likely that there is no reportable information available.

From what we hear, however, the few wells that have been drilled are mostly for testing purposes. There have been mention of a few wells that are not producing as anticipated, but again this is anecdotal.

It has been said that the Monterey Shale will rival all of the fields recently discovered, assuming that they can produce it. The industry has known about the play for years but, of course, the technology for commercially producing it is recent.

Hope this helps.

Hi, Jean -

Thanks for the information. It will be interesting to watch developments over the coming years.

A friend sent me the following article:http://peakoil.com/publicpolicy/califorinias-vast-oil-reserve-may-now-be-within-reach-and-battle-heats-up