We inherited in 141 north, range 91 and 92. NOW WHAT? No lease

My Grandmother passed away and left mineral rights to the family. We have 141 North, range 91 west, section 19 and 141North, range 92 west, sections 13 and 24. In 1995 Empire leased these sections and paid my Grandmother about $100. They contacted her again in 2006 to renew the lease and never followed up from there. We believe we have not had a lease since 1995. Ironically my husband is in the retail gas marketing industry but knows nothing about leases. I'm a newbie to all of this so any information would be hugely helpful. Thanks!!

Ann

Ann:

Not much activity in the immediate area of your minerals. Most activity is out to the West where multiple horizontals are located. I suggest that you make sure that proper paperwork is on file at the County Clerks office and if any operator decides to develope that area, they will locate you. Empire is a broker type operation that leases for other oil and gas operators. I have leased to them in the past.