WC Mineral Lease Offer

I am new to this and would love feedback. How would I go about determining if the offer I received for a mineral lease in Washington County is good? I own a very small % of the acreage split among several people thus my interest is tiny.

Welcome to the forum! Generally, first offers tend to be a bit low just to see if someone will bite. The bonus is not the most important item in the “good” category. The terms of the lease are so much more important in the long run. Most people want their royalty as high as possible. Texas mineral owners usually want 25%, but that does depend somewhat on the area. It is VERY important to get a good TX oil and gas attorney to look at any draft lease and make the suggested edits. The draft that you might get in an offer is most likely all in the operator’s favor and will cost you more than you know in the long run.

Good attorneys are posted in the Directories tab above or you can go to the Texas Bar Association and select one with an oil and gas focus. Best to get one in your region as they would know that is being offered as far as bonus/royalty pairs and can help you get a better deal. Some leases can hold your family for decades, so best to get good advice up front. If several people share the acreage, you can split the attorney fees and all get a good lease!

Thank you so much for your advice.

Since there hasn’t been much new leasing in Washington County I’d be interested which part of the County you’re in. If you aren’t familiar with the Railroad Commission’s online records and are interested in learning if any drilling permits have been filed recently in your area, post your legal description, or just the abstract number where your interest is located, and someone should be able to help you.