Values in Eddy New Mexico?

I have inherited mineral rights in eddy NM but know nothing of the actual value, I have zero knowledge in how this works. I tried to research but its all Greek to me!

This is the only information I have, Could anyone tell me what I have and how I could find out any further information? I would be so appreciative.

Township 20 South, Range 27 east, N.M.P.M. Section 12: S2 Section 14 SE/4SW4, SE/4 Eddy, County New Mexico containing 520 acres

I have no idea how to even locate on a map!

Thanks in advance

I forgot to include this is a 3% Overriding Royalty Interest!

Hi Jentara, I am no expert but have been learning quite a bit about mineral ownership over the past year. I am sure someone more knowledgeable will answer soon. But in the meantime, consider looking at the below post, which I placed recently about an overriding royalty interest I own in another part of NM. I’d also just spend some time on the forum looking at other old posts. There are lots of old posts placed by people with similar questions. You might even find a post about an ORRI in the same area of Eddy County. There is a wealth of information here. Good luck.

Thanks so much! I don’t even have a grasp of the “language” it’s very confusing. I received 2 offers approx $150,000 out of the blue to purchase our shares but don’t even know how to respond. It says approx 520 acres in the above areas but I’m not sure where it is and what it’s really worth. How do you figure NRA?

Dear Jentara,

An overriding royalty interest (ORRI) is a cost free share of production that is carved from the Working Interest under a lease. Therefore, your interest is only in force and effect as long as the lease is in effect.

There is not enough information to determine your true ownership.