Value of Martin County royality?

Hi Everyone, Due an offer to purchase that came to my sister and myself the first of the year we discovered that we owned a royalty interest in Martin county, Texas. It was in our deceased mother’s name and we went through the process to get the title changed in the spring.

Now we are getting new purchase offers. Two in the last month. One for $5000 for each of us, and one each of us for $6200. The $6200 offer started at $2500 but more than doubled when we ignored the offer. So we are wondering what is going on. Since settling the title issues we have not received much royalties from the well. It is clear we don’t understand how to judge these offers.

Here is our royalty description from the tax appraisal: Ernestine 23, T3N Blk 36 Sec 23, A-186, T&P RR NW/4 is added on other documents. Together we have a 0.002748 interest.

What is this worth? How would we find out?

Thanks in advance for your help.

Rachelle

Rachelle, I am not a professional, just another mineral holder. The minerals cost nothing to hold, unless they are appraised at over $500. I get non-stop offers, even phone calls, tracking me through relatives. The source of the money is private equity–Wall Street money that wants desperately to diversify out of the stock market. Often the offers you get are from flippers. Look at the county records for the company that made the offer(s). Often, they turn around and resale their acquisitions.

If you are getting offers, then they know something you do not (probably) know. More than likely, your location is going to be drilled, and with horizontal wells, fracking and stack plays, you stand to make a lot of money. More than you will get from selling. They would not offer unless they stood to make at least a 25% return on your land.

Bottom line, I would not sell my minerals unless it was a matter of life and death. Mailbox money that comes in monthly is a wonderful thing, and Wall Street and the 1% chase it hard.