Understanding XTO payment statement

Hello All! I’m new to this whole process and I’m not 100% sure what I’m doing. I have modeled my bookkeeping on what my Dad did. All the other statements I receive are very basic and I understand them however I’m having a hard wrapping my head around the XTO statements. The majority of the other statements I receive break down production into 4 types(oil, gas ,condensate & plant products) which I keep up with that way. XTO has over a dozen production types of which I understand oil, gas & condensate. Where I’m at a loss is how to categorize 4OU, drip condensate, downstream fuel, flare & sulphur.

Hi! Welcome to the forum!

The variation between statements is quite frustrating, indeed! At least this means you have more information rather than less, and you’re being paid on these other items, which is a good start.

First, if you haven’t seen it, XTO has a basic “how to read your statement” form on their website here. https://www.xtoenergy.com/-/media/XTO/Files/How-to-Read-Check-Detail-2019.pdf Sounds like you can read it fine you just don’t know what to do with some of the numbers, but just making sure you’ve seen it.

Fundamentally, there’s gaseous hydrocarbon (gas), liquid hydrocarbon (oil), and non-hydrocarbons (sulfur, helium, CO2, etc). Everything else is a form of slicing and dicing where and how that gas and oil is valued.

• Condensate is liquid hydrocarbon that comes out of the gas after if leaves the wellhead but before it goes into the marketing pipeline to the gas plant. If a well is labeled a “gas well” then any liquid it sells at the tanks will be considered “condensate” (for simplicity). But if that well was labeled and “oil well” that exact same product sold the exact same way would be called oil.
  • Residue is gas that is sold and processed at a gas plant, and is the leftover gas after taking out the valuable “plant products” like pentane, propane, and butane (NGLs)