Understanding Revenue Payments

Hi all,

I’m totally new to oil investing and was looking to understand how revenue is calculated. I’ve been looking at auctions on EnergyNet.com and one lot (105619) shows Revenue from 5 wells of

May 2023- $1,983.18 April 2023-$2,571.10 March 2023-$4,170.09 February 2023-$4,040.26

The website states: “Currently these Wells produce an average of 4,851 BOPD and 21,254 MCFPD” and have a residual interest of 0.00018491. Also “Seller is conveying one-fortieth (1/40th) of its right, title and interest. The check stubs provided herein reflect the full interest owned by Seller. The cash flow table above reflects the actual interest being conveyed.”

but when I multiply the production by the price of oil and by the Residual interest and the interest i don’t get anywhere near the revenue numbers reported above.

I would greatly appreciate it if someone could please explain the math to me!

Edit: The website also states "

Appreciate your help!

PD is per day, multiply price times number of days on production each month.

You can see already how quickly these wells fall off; and, they have collected the flush production and now want to bring forward the royalty stream. I wouldn’t go more than 3-4 years worth on about 1000/month. Especially since they want 40 different people to bid each other up. Not trying to sound opinionated, but just a few words since you said you’re new.

Thank you so much. this was very helpful! any suggestions on alternatives to invest in the oil space?

Thanks!

Let me guess. Caddo Minerals.

Every one of those has the projected cash flow of a Ponzi scheme. If you buy them for 30-40x cash flow as reported…you get 30% of your money the first year. Then 20% year 2. Then 12% year 3. Then so on and so on, until it adds up to 90% of your money.