Understanding NMA Calculations w/ or w/o Pumping Units

I am very new to understanding NMA calculations and need all the simplistic help I can find! How are NMA calculated on mineral acres with pumping units as opposed to acreage with only horizontal pipe? Billings County 25 T141 R99. Any help is greatly appreciated, including who to ask. Thanks!

Understanding you net mineral acres (NMA) comes from the complete description in your lease. The acres have nothing to do with the wells that are drilled on the property.

However, what you might be asking is how to calculate your decimal interest in any royalties. That does depend upon your net mineral acres, the royalty and the spacing of any reservoir and that needs a geographic description

For example, if your description on your deed or probate document says SW4 NE4 25-141N-99W, then you would read the description from right to left. Section 25 has 640 acres. The northeast quarter is 160 acres and the southwest quarter would be 40 acres. That would be your net mineral acres. If the deed said 1/4 undivided interest in SW4 NE4 25-141N-99W, then your would divide by 4 again and have 10 net mineral acres but not a particular 10 acres.

The next thing you need to know is your royalty. 1/6th is typical in ND (16.6666667%). 3/16ths is 18.75%, etc. Many companies make sales offers based upon net royalty acres (NRA). That is your net mineral acres x royalty x 8. Example: 40 acres at 3/16ths royalty equals 60 net royalty acres. (40*.1875*8) 40 acres at 1/6th royalty is 53.33333333 acres. Very important to know the difference.

Division Order decimal interest.