Understanding my inherited mineral rights

This is my first time on this forum so please bare with me . I have recently inherited mineral rights in martin county and I am so lost and clueless to all of this I would like to understand what it means and what is going on . It is all so overwhelming and I am confused. Please help !!!

Welcome! It can be overwhelming when you first start.
First of all, get oriented. Find out the description of what you have inherited. Scan the forum for keywords and read the posts for your county and nearby counties.

The Mineral Help tab above is quite useful.
There is also a NARO topic area that has good information. The NARO website is also quite useful. www.naro-us.org. Once Covid passes conventions will begin again. In the meantime, there are useful webinars on particular topics of interest to the mineral owners. There is a Texas NARO chapter.

If you have wells in production, then you need to inform the operators that the title has passed to you.

A useful website is the Texas Railroad Commission. This is the link to the GIS maps so you can see where you are and see what drilling is around you. http://wwwgisp.rrc.texas.gov/GISViewer2/

Ask questions.

The title has already been changed over to me it is in martin county Hughes #43 . I just get frustrated because I don’t understand any of anything I read about any of it

I also don’t know if I have to pay taxes on the money I receive or if there is anything I should be doing other than drawing a check thank you so much for responding I am so excited about finding this forum

Welcome to the forum. You can find out your tax status by contacting the Martin County Tax Assessor, Marsha Graves at 432-756-2823. You can also search for your property yourself here: http://www.martincad.org/(S(bcpcisrmqzykti2x431oiwvq))/search.aspx?clientid=martincad

A quick search of the Hughes #43 shows it has several wells on it. You need to make sure that you are getting paid on all of them.