Uintah County, UT - Oil & Gas Discussion archives

Uintah County, UT oil & gas discussion group. Share your experience regarding lease bonus, royalty rates, drilling activity, and oil & gas news.

Hi! I have no knowledge as to the going rate for the leasing of mineral rights in the Uintah County, Utah area. I recently received an offer for $100 per acre which seems very low. Any input appreciated. Thank you

David,

I have heard of acreage bonus very recently going for 3 times that amount. That being said0- there are many factors that will affect the pricing: total acreage you own, % of ownership held by you, the area the offer is for, any current activity in the immediate area, etc.

I would encourage you to contact either one of the folowing people for guidance:- Hyrum Winterton, Leroy Pectol, Allan Smith- all are members of the Utah Royalty Owners Association and all live in the Roosevelt, Utah area.

Good luck!

Thank you John.

David

NEW Member! I have inherited 85 + acres or mineral rights in Uintah County and since I live in TN, I know absolutely nothing about mineral rights, oil drilling - anything! I have been contacted, through an agent, by the Bill Barrett Co which is interested in leasing my rights. What is a fair price per acre for the "signing bonus" and what is a fair percentage to ask for royalties should they drill successfully? In MS the royalty is 1/4 but the agent in Utah said it was not that high in UT. Any help would be greatly appreciated! Thanks, Joan Leonard

Have never belonged to a forum such as this before so may not be doing this correctly.

John, thanks for letting us know about the Utah Royalty Owners Assn - I didn't know about them, but I have just now talked to Allen and am joining.

Thanks you Allan Smith for your help. Will keep you posted. You are a great resource.