Tyler County WV mineral rights

Hi everyone! New at this first-time poster. Recently discovered by mail that my husband had inherited mineral rights in Tyler County WV. Was sent a letter to modify a contract (we have not even seen yet). It has a few paragraphs talking about pooling. I need to know if I should sign this. Tried contacting a lawyer, they told me to find out how much net mineral acreage that my husband owns. I called to find this out and was told this: 279 acres, 1/29952 ownership. The well is a producing well since 1941 but is about to go dry. The last descendant of these rights died a year ago but they are not holding any royalty payments for us. They also will not tell us the GP site or the API number for the well. I know I am new at all this but this just doesn’t sound legit. Can anyone here help me with this matter. Thanks in advance.

I moved your request over to Tyler County, WV so you will get more traffic and hopefully a good answer.

I am not familiar with WV law, but this sounds like a top lease and you should not sign it without totally understanding it. Sounds like 0.0093149 acres? If the well is still producing and he is the heir, then he should be getting payments, even if very small.

Hopefully, someone from WV can help here.

Thanks for getting back with me. They say there is 279 acres but I don’t understand the ownership breakdown. Does this mean there was almost 30,000 people before us? Thanks