Transferring inherited minerals

hi, my mom was an only child who recently passed away, we have 4 kids in our family, she inherited rights from her mom that have been continually passed down the family line from her family. 14-147N-096w

we do not have much info on this as paperwork isn’t readily available, we have no deed (if you get one for rights) if there was one.

We would like to know if there is any activity in this area now or for potentially in the future, as we are trying to decide if its better to keep or hold for future.

We would also like to know who the leases are from in this area, and how to view any current and past sales of mineral rights

It would be helpful to know how what the process is to transfer into each of our 4 names should we keep the rights.

any other information about this region would be very much appreciated.

thank you very much in advance, eskeno

Hi Eskeno,

I am no lawyer or expert, but my family also has mineral interests in ND. There is a useful website that shows activity based on the section-township-range coordinates; you can find it here Oil and Gas Well Search

The documents on ownership are typically filed in the county where the land is located. When my siblings and I inherited mineral rights, we ended up hiring a local law firm to help us get the ownership probated and moved to our generation.

Best of luck,

Greg

thank you I will take a look!

This map (DMR GIS (nd.gov)) is on the same site, but here’s how it looks.

Continental (Home - Continental Resources (clr.com)) is the operator. Reach out to them, see who they show the title under and see what needs to be done to transfer the interest.

thank you for the map,