Title Examination

Received a notice/app for drilling in an area I have some interest in.They are asking me to provide title, etc.to what I have. 30 days to sign. I have very little knowledge of how they figure this out. Past offers to sell seem to range from 20 to 40 nma. Where these figures come from is over my head. Maybe a pooled 640 acres, where long ago, my parents and grand parents had property. Is operator obligated to give me info on my interest, or do I just rely on their records to determine my royalties? Thanks a lot.

Hi Ronald, Congrats - it sounds like there may be some activity on your minerals in the near future. In terms of how operators determine ownership amount - they perform a title search for the tracts of land covered by their Drilling Spacing Unit (DSU) to identify all mineral owners (and associated undivided interest %). If they are asking for you to provide documentation to prove your ownership, it is likely that the owner of record for your minerals still shows up as your parents or grandparents and in order for them to pay you a lease bonus or royalty, you need to prove that you have title to the property (e.g. a mineral deed, quit claim deed, warranty deed, or some other type of conveyance document).

If this is the case (and in general for cases like this), your interest would be placed in “suspense” and any monies owned to you would be held until you provide the necessary documentation. At that point, they would place your interest in “pay status” and begin paying you. You won’t be at risk of losing the money, it just would be held.

If there are any gaps in the chain of title or other title defects that need to be cured before you have marketable title, you would need to hire an attorney to help you (e.g. to go through probate process or determination of heirship to prove that you own the minerals).