Texas Mineral Rights Group archives

Oil & gas discussion group for land and mineral rights in Texas. Ask questions or share your experiences related to mineral and land rights in Texas including law and legal questions, accounting and taxes, regulations, surface use issues, easements, and anything else affecting land and mineral rights in Texas.

I'm new to TX mineral rights. Is there an easy way to figure out where wells from which you are receiving royalties, are completed, as in which formation? Is each well typically completed in one oil/gas producing formation, or can they be completed in 2 or more? Can you tell this kind of thing from the Railroad Commission's website? I know there's a lot of info on the RRC website but so far it's an impenetrable labyrinth to me....how does anyone find stuff on that thing?

Diane,