Taxes on an Inheritance

Hello,

I new to this forum and Oil and Gas Income. We've inherited small portions of 3 wells in Oklahoma and there is the possibility we will receive a check for more than 200K from Oklahoma for payments not made since 2006, much smaller amounts from California and Texas from various owners of the wells in the past. Our CPA said this amount of money - along with my normal income - would put us in the 33% Federal Tax Bracket. Since then, I learned if we filed jointly, we would be in the 28% Federal Tax Bracket ( I'm not sure since I'm not good at interpreting accounting laws) and we don't know what the Oklahoma state tax will be. Should we be using a CPA who has experience with mineral rights, or is there a way to assist our CPA in learning what taxes are required?

Also, what questions should we be asking or CPA to ensure he is up to speed on mineral taxes?

We would appreciate any input or advice.

I may be reading your post wrong but you are not being necessarily taxed on minerals but on income from those minerals, you need to ask about the state tax on the production as a deduction, & the depreciation/depletion on the mineral income.

I would find out if you can amend your income tax filings starting on 2006 and include the income from each years income (when it SHOULD have been received/reported); not sure if this is possible, but it is reasonable, and will reduce the burden from a lump-sum income.

Thank you Harry,

I will follow all your suggestions.

Do you know if there is a way to educate our cpa on all this short of asking him to learn an all new specialty? Do you suggest we change to a cpa knowledgeable or specialized in the arena of Oil and gas income.

Thank you too Oldoak...really like your name :)

William,