Spring Lake Energy,LLC & Sovereign Natural Resources, Inc

I have recently been contacted by phone and letter by Spring Lake Energy. Has anyone else heard from them? My family owns minerals in sections 2, 3 and 10 159-79. The spokesman said they (Spring Lake Energy) is a group of owners in the area interested in getting an oil company’s to drill in their area. He said his research indicates the Bakken extends under McHenry County, but the oil companies “haven’t gotten there yet”.

Spring Lake Energy has apparently hired Sovereign Natural Resources to search out prospective companies and negotiate leases on its behalf. I was sent a contract with Sovereign which, as I read it, would have the oil company paying their fee if a else is negotiated…

While I’ve been negotiating leases for several years, I admit to still being very much a “newbie”, and I’ve never heard of this before. Sounds like a good idea, but would appreciate any thoughts out there. Thanks!

If the lessee/operator is supposed to pay the fee, they are going to deduct it from your consideration anyway in any deal they agree to.

Not to say that having professional representation would be a bad thing. I would just feel better if my side was paying so I could hold the negotiators to a standard of ethics, since as above, it's a zero sum game and whatever deal gets negotiated, Sovereign's pay is going to reduce what you get.

I would suggest that the pay should come from the signatory mineral owners bonus (with pre-agreed royalty percentage), possibly a percentage, to encourage Sovereign to do a good job, also they are working for and paid by you they would have to avoid conflicts of interest.

Sovereign representing you and being paid by the lessee/operator is an instant conflict of interest.