Shared Mineral Rights

When numerous heirs each own an undivided interest in mineral rights, can just 1 or 2 sign/get paid to sign leases? I don’t think so since there’s no way to specify which section of the whole any 1 heir “owns”-rather they all own a portion of the whole. But the leasing agent said the heirs “own the division of interest in their own right. As a result, it can be leased as a group or as each individual.” Which is true???

The leasing agent is correct.

Let me try since I’m a layman myself, and you might grasp my explanation better. You each own a percentage of each mineral acre. If there are 8 heirs and all have equal shares, you each have 12.5%, that you own and can do what you like with, sell / lease, take a loan out against it or have a lien placed against your share. You don’t have to lease with whoever leased your family members, or for what they leased for or lease at all. Hope this clears things up for you. I am in the same situation as you with my share being a 1/42 th undivided interest in roughly 3 sections. RWK

Since you chose to expand on my direct answer to her direct question, don't forget to tell her about a partition in kind vs a partition by licitation, since a co-owner is never forced to stay in co-ownership with another.

While you are at it, you might want to dissertate on the practical effect of leasing separately and apart from other co-owners to potentially different companies who may not be equally yoked as to target formations, prospect valuation and ranking in their respective drilling/prospect portfolios.

r w kennedy said: