Severed Mineral Rights & Surface Foreclosure?

I am a resident of the state of Ohio. I just purchased all mineral rights and interests including the current lease with a gas company, the lease is not in production, from an acquaintance with a mineral deed that servers the mineral rights from surface rights of his home. My acquaintance never told me his financial situation, I knew he needed money but didn't know his dire situation. We signed a purchase agreement relating to sale of mineral rights and all mineral interests, that I found on the internet and filled in the blanks, and he provided me with a MINERAL AND ROYALTY INTEREST DEED at closing. Both documents were notarized in presence of a notary public. Only later did he tell me that he had received a notice from his primary mortgagor that if he doesn't get current he will get foreclosed upon and in this pre-foreclosure state he had sold me the mineral rights. If he gets foreclosed upon, will it effect me, since he sold me the rights, and told me later he might get foreclosed upon. Will I lose my mineral rights, they were sold to me with a MINERAL AND ROYALTY INTEREST DEED granting me 100% ownership and the deed is at auditors office and waiting to get to recorders office to get recorded? I think after it is recorded it becomes a separate mineral estate and I read I would have to pay taxes on it, which I'm fine doing.

I think it all boils down to whether it's legal to sever the mineral rights without the lienholders permission. If it is legal, I'd say you are ok. I do think it's something you should have verified with a lawyer before you handed over any money.