Seizure of mineral property for which no tax notice was received

Has anyone had mineral property seized by a Sheriff's Deed for non-payment of county taxes for which no tax notice was received?

Through no fault of my own my name was misspelled and my address lost so I received no tax notices. This happened years ago and I have just now discovered I lost a valuable mineral property. I am trying to determine if I have any recourse.

Joy,

What state were the minerals in?

Thanks for asking for clarification. They were in Texas.

Joy,

Sorry, but I have no experience in Texas, wish I could have helped.

Good Luck!

I believe the right for redemption is 180 days from the date of the sale. http://www.lonestarlandlaw.com/Redemption.html

This is a very unfortunate situation for you - caused by an error not of your own. I can't preach enough that anyone with producing minerals in Texas (and other states with mineral / royalty property taxes) to make sure they are receiving and paying their property tax annually.

Thank you for responding. Do you think I have no recourse even though it was not my correct name used in the case file?

You should consult an attorney about whether the particular circumstances may affect your ability to recover the property. It may depend on how your name became misspelled. Was the incorrect name and address also on your checks? Did you pay taxes under the misspelled name? What do you mean by address was lost? Did you own the surface and were not paying taxes? Was your name correct in the records but incorrect in the court order? There may be a particular case law or statutory exceptions which could apply in your exact fact situation.