Seismic Survey on Notil ground?

I have some ground that crews want to run a seismic 3D survey on. I have nightmares about problems left after a crew did some ground of ours over 5-7 years ago, as I am still fighting depressions and ruts. If I was a conventional til farmer I would eventually get all the spots worked out/over so crossing the field would be tolerable. BUT, I am a longtime notil farmer, and those depressions and ruts they leave will be there for quite some time. Thumper trucks, especially in wet conditions, are the culprit. Is their any other way for them to get their readings that would less "destructive" to my farming practices? I think they are offering $10 acre for the right to survey.

thanks,

Jim Coady

Kansas

Have no wet weather work AND have them pay to level the ruts. I define ruts as from 6" from peak to trough. We generally get about $2.50 per running foot for rut damage. That would more than pay to disk and level. If you have all the minerals, you control the deck of cards.

Best

Buddy Cotten

Avoid if possible. Thumper got stuck in our wheat field. Used disk to repair, to early to tell yet on long term effect/damage. Most definitely no wet ground.

Jim,

If you are the mineral owner, you should encourage the geophysical exploration as the exploration company will learn more about your minerals with the high cost of drilling. However, I find is strange that they want to come back after 5-7 years to reshoot so be careful of the agreement wording not being a lease in disguise. A legitimate seismic company and its client will happily pay for reasonable damages in order to get the subsurface information. The backer is spending a little money to decide if it should spend very big dollars that may turn out to be for your benefit.