Section 23-2N-4W Mineral Acre Valuations

I’ve been helping someone apply for Medicaid, but mineral rights are causing some issues. They have an interest in mineral acres located in several sections of Stephens county, and we believe DHS is way-overvaluing them, especially given the current economic situation. They’re valuing the non-leased/non-producing mineral rights based on the current average lease bonus in Stephens county, which they have as $404/acre. Could anyone tell if this is current?

The acres in section 23 are leased and producing, but production has dropped significantly since 2015. They’re taking the average monthly yield from the past 6 years are figuring approx 2.33 mineral acres are worth $29,000 if sold today. (Monthly return to the owner is currently only $250/mo on average). I apologize if that’s not much to go off of, but does that valuation sound accurate?

Thank you to anyone who can help! I’m very new to mineral rights, but I’ve appreciated what I’ve already learned from these forums over the past few days.

If you list the section, township and range of each properties, we may be give more current leasing amounts. Also,you may be able to get an engineer to value the properties based upon current pricing and decline curve analysis which is much more in line with today’s value instead of high production and high prices from six years ago. If that was a horizontal well, then its value has dropped quite a bit. I will take a quick look at this posted S-T-R for activity.

1 Like

Thank you for the quick reply, M_Barnes. I appreciate the advice. I’m unsure if they are horizontal or vertical, but I’ll see if I can find that out. They are valuing all of these combined at just under $30K. Section 23-2N-4W approx 2.33 acres (leased and producing)

Section 20-2N-5W 1 mineral acre

Section 9-2N-4W 1 mineral acre