Section 118 Block 13

Hello! I hope someone can help me, it would be greatly appreciated. I received a letter, just like many, for a request to lease oil/gas rights from me on this piece of land. I apparently inherited it from someone that I never heard of and don’t know of any family in Texas. Anyway, I know that will be verified, I just need to know what this land might be worth for the lease. I was offered 1000.00 an acre, for 6.66 (lol) acres for 5 years, total 6666.66, and the usual 25% royalty. From what I’ve read here that sounds low. (The 1000.00). I need to call this fellow back and yes, I’ve verified him and the company he represents and all seems legit. I’m nervous about speaking to him though until I know a little more, but also need to know how and when to indicate I want to negotiate the price. I’m a newbie at this and in Washington state, where most of us don’t know diddly about oil/gas stuff. I need to do this on my own, as I cannot hire a lawyer and cannot travel to Texas. Thank you in advance!

1 Like

Can anyone help on this please?

Do you know the abstract #?

Yes, 3503. Thank you so much for responding!

$1,000.00 bonus is not the worst offer you could get in this area, you are pretty far south of the best producing wells in the county. You could get more depending on your negotiating skills, probably up to 2k per acre bonus. Do not settle for less than a 1/4 royalty, and if you find out the company leasing you is involved with the operator, ask for even more.

I have mineral rights in Block 13, section 239 and recently leased for 10,000 per net mineral acre. I know rates vary depending on where your minerals are, but 1,000 is very low. Also, I wouldn’t sign a 5 year deal. I believe 3 years is more the norm. I am not an attorney and certainly not an expert about all this, but wanted to share my two cents. Good luck!

1 Like

Those sections are not near each other.

1 Like