Salt Water Royalties Questions West Texas

Hello,

I am a new landowner due to the passing of land to my family and I have received two offers for a Salt Water Disposal site. As a newbie I am seeking advice from any source I can find. The first offer was for 20k outright purchase which I rejected quickly.

They have countered with 12k Option to lease and 2% royalty. I think in Stanton County Texas these are going for .50bbl. My research has shown anywhere from .05 cents bbl to .08 cents bbl plus damages etc.

Any Insight would be a great help. Thank you

Kevin Meek

Kevin:

I"m not sure about the money end of your question as this varies from area to area. I will advise you to be very detailed in your agreement in regards to damages to surfaces areas due to activities related to this SWD well. Any spill, regardless of size will impact your property for possibly years to come if the incident is not properly cleaned and areas remediated. Also, if you have any stock ponds or other waterways on your property, these should especially addressed. Always report any spill or pollution related incident to the Railroad Commission of Texas and a field inspector will inspect the area and file a detailed report along with photos. This is always helpful in the event legal action has to be taken against the operator. I have seen situations where the current operator was great to work with and strived to comply with all rules and regulations but eventually the operation was bought out by a not so good operator and this is where the problems begin. Good luck and always make routine inspections around the area in the event the operators pumpers tend to look over possible problems.

Not enough information and probably not nearly enough money. Do you have an old depleted well on your property that they want to pump the water down ? Or do they have to drill the well ?