Royalty Decimal Interest

What is a decimal interest percentage based on in relation to sections? We have three wells, each running through 2 sections in various areas of our ranch. Two wells are pooled and one is not. Each pay a different decimal interest. Please help me understand how each could be different.

Lee, I’m a division order analyst with 40 years of experience, so maybe I can help you with your question.

The basic formula for calculating a lease well royalty interest is:

Mineral Interest Share x lease royalty rate = entitlement royalty decimal

This only works if your land fills the entire proration unit area required by the TRC for the well. That’s what’s called a lease well.

The basic formula for calculating a pooled unit well royalty interest is:

Mineral Interest Share X lease royalty rate X gross tract acres / gross pooled unit acres = entitlement royalty decimal

Mineral interest share can be a fraction, percentage, or decimal. The gross tract acres is the gross surface area of land you own that is inside the pooled unit.

Here’s an example of lease well entitlement decimal calculation: