Reservoir engineer reports -- affordable, worthwhile?

Hi, folks, I’m a newbie. I want to sell my share of mineral rights in Grady County, OK. My big task to get a realistic appraisal of the value of what I have. Recently it was suggested to me to get a report or study done by a reservoir engineer. Never heard of these people but the title alone tells me it’d cost thousands. So, does anyone know about getting their services, how much they may cost for Oklahoma, and what there might be as alternatives?

Thanks, Jim

Laugh. I would guess to have somebody with a prof engineer’s license do an evaluation is gonna cost about $200/hr. How many hours that will take will depend on what you own. If you have millions of dollars worth of mineral rights, then yeah, I think I might spend a few grand to have somebody tell me what it is worth. If you have less than 100 acres I think I would not bother. I’m saying all that with no idea whatsoever what the going rate for minerals or enginerding is in Grady OK.

What are you going to get for that? This is my guess.

In simplest terms, the value of your minerals are going to be broken up into 4 categories.

(1) Wells that are producing (2) Wells that are likely going to be producing in the next 18 months (DUCs or permits) (3) Other wells that would be considered “proved” reserves (4) Other wells that would be considered possible or probable reserves.