Researching complete oil/gas holdings

Total newbie here - please try to overlook my probably-inaccurate terminology!!

I have mineral rights interests in several Texas counties that were signed over to me by my dad many years ago. I get tax bills (school-related, I believe) but am not receiving any royalties.

Am seeking to identify an appropriate person to research the status (production?) of these properties and to identify whether there may be others of which I am unaware. I live in Virginia, so I do not have any ready source of referral. Advice much appreciated - don't even know what the service/specialty would be called!

Tracy:

Do you have specific information as to where these minerals are located such as name of counties, specific location of the mineral acres, etc.? Is your name properly recorded at the County Clerk's office in the counties where the minerals are located? The Railroad Commission of Texas regulates the oil and gas industry in Texas and their website has information pertaining to the industry. Currently, the most active areas in the State is the South Texas area which is the Eagle Ford Shale and West Texas which is the Permian Basin. Other scattered developments exist in the State but these are the most active. Again, if you could be more specific as to the location, one might be able to assist you in regards to activity.

Thanks so much for your prompt reply!

I have specific info on the properties of which I am aware - if that makes sense. They are in Loving and Reagan counties. I believe they are properly registered in my name as I get tax bills and occasional offers to purchase. So, I'm really attempting to understand (a) whether there is or has been production on any of these parcels for which I might be owed royalties and (b) whether there are other properties of which I might be unaware.