Relinguishment Contract that Oil Company didn't complete?

I would like the advice of a Professional here? My family signed a Relinquishment contract with a small company however owned by a larger oil company. The Relinquishment contract is treated as a PSL Contract with one more stipulation. That the Operator has to plant the first hole before the 1st day a year later, as in our contract he was to have drilled the first hole on or before March 1st. 2020. I saw that they did get the permit almost 6 months in advance of the drilling date of March 1st, but never even moved the drilling rig in on the property. I called my Company that leased the minerals, they just said they will drill the hole when they get around to it. Surely since the State wrote that contract, they must have a penalty for the Oil Company, or does the virus earn them a PASS. On 750 Lease.

I am not a professional, but since you have yet to receive a reply, I will offer my two cents anyway. If the lease had to be approved by the State of Texas’ General Land Office, you might contact that agency and speak with someone in the leasing area of its Energy/Oil and Gas division to try to learn more. Is the language of your lease so broadly written regarding what constitutes drilling that site preparation alone might meet the drilling obligation?