Ratify a Lease

I recently learned I’ve inherited mineral righs on some land. The land is not owned by my family any longer. Recently I was asked to ratify a lease so that drilling on the land can proceed, and I will then receive a royalty for any minerals found. I’m wondering what I need to be aware of going forward. I am new to this business.

You probably own a royalty interest reserved in a sale of the land. The ratification allows the operator to pool this royalty interest with other lands and leases. If your royalty interest was under the drill site tract, pooling is not necessary. If you own a royalty interest under a drill site tract never sign a ratification as it allows the operator to dilute your interest by pooling it with other lands or leases. If you own a royalty interest on lands other than the drill site tract, you must ratify in order to get paid. in your case it makes no difference since you have already signed a ratification.

Thanks, James. I was just made aware of this inheritance. The land was sold in 1961 but the mineral rights were reserved by my great grandfather. My grandmother's share was passed down to me, my siblings, and various aunts and uncles. We have not signed the ratification yet, as it only arrived today. I wonder if I should look at the lease with the oil company first, and if I should get a title history/report. The landman is not providing any of this but has told me the volume and page numbers of county records where the original deed and lease can be found. How agressive in due diligence should I be in tracking down these documents or does it matter? I am a non-executive owner, and was informed that if I don't ratify my portion of the lease, I will not receive any royalties. Do you know if there is a separate royalty agreement between parties later in the process?

Debra Kumar said: