Ratification of Designation of Pooled Unit Docs

Received Docs for 2 Units in the Permian Basin composing of 5 horizontal wells asking me to ratify (or participate) in pooling with adjacent mineral interests owners. I’m new to mineral interests ownership. My interest is NPRI. The operator is ConocoPhillips so a well-known entity. Trying to figure out why this is necessary and what my options are. I understand it changes the way the royalties are calculated, but I’m being told by the landman working with me that it won’t make much difference based on acreage and what he calls a straight line calculation, so again, if no difference, then why the need for executing these docs. And, what are the risks/outcome of not signing. I’m already getting royalty checks, so obviously there is some default method for calculating my payments. Looking for someone in this forum that might have some insight/advice. Thanks.