Possible payout from a producing well

I have 20 acres of mineral rights in Washita Co., Ok. I leased these 20 acres with a 3/16 royalty.The lease expires 10-11-12. Last week I was sent an offer to purchase my 20 acres for $1600 per acre ($32,000). I called and question them about the sudden interest. He said there was a well being drilled apprx. 4 mi. south of me and they're going for the Springer Formation (22,000') and anticipating gas. If it hits prices go up if not they go down. My question is this...I have no experience in knowing what the possible payout would be if they were to drill in my section and hit gas. I need to know what the possibilities are for payout. I know there is no absolute answer because of the variables involved but it would help me if I could get a ballpark idea of what kind of money is possible. If someone could give me some kind of an idea for say a low producer, a medium and a high producer. I have no figures to base a decision on. Thanks.

Sandra:

My advice is not to even consider selling these minerals as they could be very valuable over the long haul. As to the payout from these minerals, there are too many variables to deal with such as the market values of these minerals, the amount of production from the well and the cost to get them to market. Bottom line, hold onto your minerals and never consider a sellout.

You could also research the production of nearby wells and possibly arrive at an approximate figure but remember that your well might not produce as much or could produce more than the nearby well.

Sandra,