Please Help! Who inherits my dad's mineral rights?

I am new to all of this...but i'm needing help with some information.

My great grandparents had mineral rights in oklahoma, when they passed it was divided between their kids...now that my grandmother has passed, her share is supposed to divided up between her kids. Well now that my dad is ill, his wife says his share goes to her and not his kids...Is this how it works? It was my understanding that it was to stay in our family...What do i do?

The right thing to do is to encourage your father to get a will so that his wishes can be honored, rather than depending on the rules of succession of the state of Oklahoma if he dies without a will. In Oklahoma, I believe a portion will go to the surviving spouse. If that is not the intention, GET A WILL.

T Clark:

I tend to agree with the above post in that a will should be made in order to alleviate problems down the road. I would seek the services of an estate attorney with experience in oil and gas matters. I believe that this would be money well spent.

Thank you so much!

JW Anderson said:

The right thing to do is to encourage your father to get a will so that his wishes can be honored, rather than depending on the rules of succession of the state of Oklahoma if he dies without a will. In Oklahoma, I believe a portion will go to the surviving spouse. If that is not the intention, GET A WILL.

Thank you very much!
charles s mallory said:

T Clark:

I tend to agree with the above post in that a will should be made in order to alleviate problems down the road. I would seek the services of an estate attorney with experience in oil and gas matters. I believe that this would be money well spent.

1/3 2/3 rule in Oklahoma. With the 1/3 going to widow

You need to see if the initial will from your grandparents was to only be passed on to blood heirs. That will make a difference also. I would definitely get ahold of that will and talk to a lawyer in living wills.