Permits in Glasscock county

Does anyone know why there are so few permits to drill being filed in Glasscock county. 5 in Nov, 2 in Dec. and 7 in January…there used to be 14 filed in one day, not three months. Is it the price of oil?, seems like there is much concern over pleasing the public, the president, the green peace bunny huggers, the stakeholders, investors etc. but no one has asked the owners. Guess we don’t count.

I was just wondering if our oil companies have gotten out of the drilling for oil business and gone into the financial management business or if they are all driving Tesla’s and investing in wind farms, or maybe they have changed careers and gotten into real estate. Whatever they are doing they don’t seem to be filing permits to drill new wells. I will be the first to admit I am not an expert, but I thought if you quit drilling you were done.

Does anyone else wonder if the ability to keep a lease could be altered to include a new well drilled in the last 3-6 months instead of keeping a lease through production. XTO has the rights on one or our leases that they haven’t drilled any new wells on since the early 80’s. But they are keeping it through production. If anyone has any answers or suggestions, I would appreciate it. thanks.

I cannot answer particularly for Glasscock, but the general answer is location, location, location and economics. The operators will drill where they are pretty certain that they will make a profit. Depends upon rigs availability, crews availability, reservoir quality compared to their total portfolio, price of oil and gas, takeaway capacity, availability of supplies such as pipe and chemicals, etc. The operators go where the money will be.