Organizing leases and companies

Does anyone have any suggestions for how to organize our mineral rights? We have interest in several counties and I have files by counties, and other files by leases and then more files by companies. Then I’ve tried having an excel file!! I was trying to organize to make it quick and easy to locate information but it seems I now have so many different places to look for information!! Does anyone have a good method to organize deeds, leases and companies? How important is it to know the wells? Do I need that information as well?

Thank you for any suggestions!!

Use what works for you! I am a geologist, so I organize by location as it makes the most sense to me. Mineral rights are tied to a location on the earth, so that is why I file that way. I will explain the physical and digital files first.

I file everything in my paper files (and a backup digital file system on Dropbox) by State, County, Township, Range, Section, subsection if needed (or abstract). (Largest entity to smallest) . Each mineral tract has its own file folder with subfolders in it. I label it ex: OK-Stephens-01N-01W-1 Name of tract (my grandfather named everything by the farmer he bought it from-we keep for historical purposes) (net acres)

Inside front cover of master folder-Map of location of the tract.

Subfolder one-at the back. Original documents such as deeds, copy of will or probate that refers to that section, etc. Oldest at the back, newest at the front. Originals are kept in a fireproof safe or safety deposit box.

Subfolder two -Misc. Correspondence of any kind. Offers, notes from newspapers or online, etc. In date order, oldest at the back.

Subfolder three-Lease information-specific correspondence regarding a lease. Actual copy of the lease and copy of the check received,