Older mineral leases and division orders

I'm very new to this field and feel like I'm learning a new language. I am taking over the management of my 97 year old mother's Texas oil and minerals holdings. I brought home a box full of files with many mineral leases, division orders, land leases that date from 1942 to the present. The paperwork is overwhelming. With techniques in bringing minerals to the surface, I'm wondering if these older leases are worth anything. I'm a bit lost.

Is there a website that allows me to look up leases and division orders by name of owner or lease number? Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Thank you.

Vanita, You most likely have a box of gold. Look at this as great and exciting plus possibly very lucrative.

The Texas Railroad Commission has a website that you can learn to use and look up the leases and production.

Google the Texas Railroad Commission and try it out. It takes a little time to learn it.

Mineral rights are never worth nothing! Don't sell them or give them away.

Thank you for you advice. I’ll start doing my homework.

Vanita -

I'm a Landman with more than 30 years of experience keeping records straight for clients and client companies.

I agree with Walter - congratulations, you may be looking at a pot of gold! And you are definitely off to a new adventure, with lots and lots to learn about!

You can review the records of the County Clerk for any county in Texas at their offices for free. Many County Clerk's Offices even have their records, or at least some of them, online. Their records are indexed by name, in both Direct and Reverse Indexes [Grantor, Seller, Lessor, Vendor, Mortgagor - Grantee, Buyer, Lessee, Vendee, Mortgagee].

There are also Title Plants (Record Rooms) maintained by various Title and Abstract Companies that Index the Counties Records by legal description, but most charge by the hour for you to use them.