Oil & Gas Working Interests

Good day everyone. Newbie here and thanks for having me. I have a bit of a dilemma. I inherited working interest in about 50 O&G wells in McMullen county a number of years ago. They were in Dominion's hands but are now in XTO's care. The problem is the monthly maintenance is becoming more than the revenue I receive. I requested XTO to buy me out but they weren't interested. I have tried several royalty interest companies but they aren't interested either. I'm wondering if I can just "quit claim" my interests back to XTO. I cant afford to use part of my SS every month to pay the maintenance. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated

How do you know XTO isn't cooking the books on the Maintenance Fees? An audit of their books on these wells may be in store.

Clint Liles

I know what you mean. I have contacted them and asked if they use "in house" crews or if they use subcontractors. I asked why, in the past, cost of maintenance went up with the price of O&G and went down with the price of O&G and yet now it seems very high in comparison. I got a lot of blah blah blah official language. I am only a minor decimal, less than 1%, owner. There are more 9%, 15%, and larger interest owners whom I'm sure would have done what you are suggesting. They do send an itemized breakdown of costs every month.

I'm basically looking for a way out at this stage of the game

I would like to keep this topic alive as long as possible because it is an old problem that will not go away. When people call me to do an audit and the have a very small ownership, I advise them to NOT do an audit since the audit cost will probably exceed any recovery. Also, we might find some great recoveries that the operator can deny; then the the only recourse is an expensive lawsuit. Let's please not give up too easily on this subject. Bob Malone, Malone Petroleum Consulting