Oil and gas newbie

I am a newbie, dont know anything. A landman called with an offer to lease mineral rights that my daughter and I inherited. We didnt know we owned it, but years ago we heard our relatives (since deceased) talk about land they had in Oklahoma. We dont know if the offer is fair: $5600. 1/8 or 5200 3/16 or 4800 1/5. The land is 1.75 acres. We would appreciate any advice we can get. we live in California. Would it be better to sell the land. The landman wants us to lease now and said they could drill without our o k.

Welcome to the forum. Never sell anything unless you know what it is worth… with that kind of lease offer, you may want to hang onto it.

What section, township and range? That way we can hunt down the activity in the area and see what similar offers have been.

Most of us prefer the larger royalty and lower bonus. Ask what they are offering for 1/4 just to find out.

If you are just getting started in the oil & gas business of mineral ownership, welcome… Read the Mineral Help tab at the top of the forum. Read the BLOGS category. Read the last six months or so in McClain county so you know what is going on and what the general questions, advice, etc. have been.

You will probably not want to sign the lease as they put it in front of you as it is all in their favor and not in yours. It will need negotiation.

Have you gotten the minerals through a probate? You will need a clear title in order to lease, get royalties or sell. Lots of comments by Richard Winblad on the forum along that line.

Thanks for your reply the land is Sec31 8N4W. I am not sure if we got it from probate. My wifes sister sold her section years ago according to the landman who contacted us. I have negotiated it and he raised his offer $300. Thanks again for your advice, I will read more of the blogs.

EOG Resources is planning on drilling at least two wells in Sections 30&31 8N-4W. They will be multi-unit (one well going across two sections). Can explain that later.