Oil and Gas Leasing in Harvey County, Kansas

We have recently been approached by an oil and gas company wishing to lease the mineral rights on our land. We are total novices on this, and would appreciate all the guidance and advice we can get. Thank you for your time.

Hi Laurie,

It didn't seem you were getting the help and guidance you were looking for, so I'll try. Are there any wells that you know of that are near you? It always helps to have a reference point on bonuses and royaltys. Once you've checked this out, leave me another message. It would be very helpful if you have a friend with a well. In the meantime, you might want to form a group under counties so anyone else with interests there can communicate with you about this. At present there is no group for Harvey County. Again, leave me a message with what you've found out.

To find your county directory, click on groups at the top of this message. Look for Kansas and start a group. If you need help, don't hesitate to ask. There are a lot of good people in this forum who, I'm sure would be willing to help.

Have a great day.

Yours,

Wes Luke

Hi Wes~

According to: http://www.kgs.ku.edu/PRS/County/ghj/harvey.html , we sit on a potential oil deposit (Walton). According to: http://maps.kgs.ku.edu/oilgas/ , our area is covered with old and abandoned gas wells. Our land is in sector 21, and in sector 15, which is diagonal from us, there is a marking of "intent". My guess is that with the new technology and known reserves underneath us, there is potential for development. If they have already recorded "intent" nearby, they probably need to secure the mineral rights within a radius in order to capitalize on the development in that one area (??).

CNN reported not too long ago that in counties south of us, lease rights are going for $1500/acre. We were offered $100/acre, which is high from historical offerings.

Thanks, Wes!

Laurie

Wes Luke said:

Hi Laurie,