Oil and Gas Leases in Montana

I have negotiated an oil lease for mineral rights in the State of Montana and was presented with a lease for my signature as lessor. I noticed that there is no provision for the oil company to sign as lessee. I have questioned several people that are (or should be), knowledgeable in that area and have been told that it is common for the oil company NOT to sign. However, no one has been able to explain the reason. How can this be considered a legally enforceable contract if it is only signed by one of the parites? Has anyone else experienced this. Thank you for your comments

I am a newbie to this and was waiting to see what answers you get. I’m in Colorado and in similar situation. I looked at multiple oil & Gas leases on file at the county clerks office and they all are like that. (the ones I looked at)

I am with an Oil Co, we don't sign the lease. Just the lessor signs the lease and once it is recorded and the lessor is paid via draft which is cashed or check, then the lease is consumated...

Be very cautious. Drafts are worthless. Also look up DAP56 in the thread NORTH DAKOTA- UNLEASED ACRES IN SPACING UNIT WITH WELL BEING DRILLED. They obviously don’t know what they are talking about or deliberately not telling the truth. Weigh carefully anything a landman or oil company says or you may get …consumated…RWK