Offer to purchase Minerals

Got an offer to purchase my minerals in Block 55,Township 7, T &P RR co. Survey Section 20,S2 for $450,000.00 for 174.5 mineral acres. Does anyone know if that would be considered a fair offer. I have heard that there are some companies offering more than that. Wasn’t sure is this area is considered a hot spot or not. Thank you

Janet, we own minerals in Bl 55, Twp. 7, Sec. 16. A couple of months ago, we were offered $1500 an acre to lease our minerals. We turned it down - there have been close-ish acreages that leased for $3000 an acre. It seems to me that $2578 an acre to buy (not lease) your minerals is a pretty lousy offer. That said, I am not an expert! And our area is not really hot yet, though Apache has done some drilling nearby and there is some decent activity a few miles to the east of us.

According to a report last month by the USGS, our area has many layers of recoverable oil. We are being patient. Best luck!

2 Likes

Janet, We turned down $17,500 per acre in section 26, block 55-7. Apache is starting a well in this section this month and calls it Wolfcamp instead of Alpine High.

2 Likes

Just wait. They will be offering $25,000/nma in that area soon…hold out for the $4.5 Million offer.

2 Likes